Herokuvan vaihtoehtoinen teksti (ALT-teksti) Pienen herokuvan vaihtoehtoinen teksti (ALT-teksti)

Market surveillance

Safety standards

Safety standards

Machine safety standards address safety issues related to the design of machinery and associated systems, devices and components. They also contain provisions on the life-cycle management of machinery. 

There are three levels of machine standards:

  • General A standards, basic safety and risk assessment standards applicable to all machinery (12100:2010 and 14121-1 and -2) 
  • Type B standards deal with a single safety aspect, for example noise, dust, safety device. 
  • Type C is machine type specific, more detailed structural aspects. 

The process of designing a piece of machinery should include determining whether there is a type C standard that concerns it. If there is one, it usually controls which type B standards are required and which requirements of type A standards may need to be complied with. The requirements of type C standards always take precedence over those of type B standards. The purpose of type C standards is to set out precise and detailed product specific safety requirements (risk mitigation) to meet the essential health and safety requirements of the Machinery Directive and Annex I of the Machinery Decree. 

The presumption of conformity can only be obtained by complying with a harmonised standard. 

Sources of more information about machine safety standards:

For example the risk assessment and the identification of risk factors can be carried out using standards SFS- EN ISO 14121, SFS-EN ISO 12100 sections 1 and 2 as well as machine specific standards.